Home   >   Sports   >   Football/Soccer   >   201801

SWAG Announces Nominees For Awards Night
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has released the list of outstanding sports men and women for the 43rd SWAG Awards Night.

A statement signed by William Ezah, General Secretary of SWAG named Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC), Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) as Nominees for the Footballer of the Year award.

The statement said Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak), Amos Frimpong (Kotoko) and Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea) made up the list for another version of the Footballer of the Year Award designed for players in the Ghana Premier League and FA Cup and other local events competitions.
The statement said the Association would in the second week of January officially launch the event at a ceremony to announce details of the awards night, which will also coincide with activities of the 50th Anniversary Celebration of SWAG.

Below is the full list of nominees;

Footballer of the Year: 
Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC)

Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England)

Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)

Footballer of the Year (LOCAL)
Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak)

Amos Frimpong (Kotoko)

Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea)

 Female Footballer of the Year
Priscilla Adubea (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Priscilla Okyere (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Ruth Appiah (LadyStrikers)

Professional Boxer of the Year
Isaac Dogboe

Duke Micah (WBC Int. Bantamweight Champion)

National Team of the Year
Local Black Stars

Black Sticks (female Hockey Team)

Golden Arms (Armwrestling)

Coach of the Year
Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana)

Carl Pierce (Weightlifting)

Association President of the Year
Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis)

Herbert Mensah (Rugby)

Paul Achoe (Volleyball)

Charles Osei Asibey (Armwrestling)

Evans Yeboah (Badminton Fed)

Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo)

Most Promising Star of the Year
Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting)

David Abagna     (Wa All Stars)

Female Club of the Year
Ampem Darkoah Ladies

Male Club of the Year
Aduana Stars (GPL)

GRA Male Hockey team

Dedication and Valour
George Bankole (Handball)

Ofori Asare (Boxing)

Weightlifter of the Year
Christian Amoah

Discovery of the Year
David Akwei (Weightlifting)

Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling)

Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)

Hockey Player of the Year
Salia Nsalbini

Golfer of the Year
Vincent Torgah

Badminton Player of the Year
Emmanuel Yaw Donkor

Grace Atipaka

Volleyball Player of The Year
Richard Amanor

Special Awards
Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford)

Alex Asante (GFA)

Dr. K D Asante

Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum

Dr. Martin Engmann

Para-Athlete of the Year
Charles Narh Teye

Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)

Cyclist of the Year-  Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye

Kickboxer of the Year – Alhassan Okine

Source: GNA

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.