Lands Ministry To Investigate Teshie Land Grievances

The Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, Mr Nii Osah Mills on Tuesday inaugurated a committee to investigate grievances contained in a petition by the Teshie Citizens Association to President John Mahama.

The Minister said the concerned citizens of Teshie had raised issues such as an impending layoff of Land Title contract staff by the Executive Secretary of the Lands Commission, perceived victimization of some Lands Commission employees by top officials, and people queuing to see the head of the Land Registration Division before getting their processed certificates signed.

The citizens also complained of ineffectiveness on the part of Ms Yaa Boadi, the Director of the Land Title Division of the Lands Commission, whom they accused of her inability to sign petitions unless meeting her clients one on one; and the non-retention of national service personnel.

The newly inaugurated seven-member committee is tasked with investigating the grievances of the petitioners, ownership of the disputed Martey-Tsuru and Spintex road lands and other related issues in the interest of land administration, after which they would be expected to make recommendations to the Minister.

The committee, chaired by Deputy Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, Mr Kwabena Akandoh, would have the authority to invite such persons as it deems necessary, to give evidence while investigating the issues in the petition.

The Minister said the committee had “a big task ahead” especially in light of the public’s perception that the Land Administration project had not been successful.

Mr Nii Osah Mills reminded the committee members that the issue of land title registration is “vexed” with everyone being interested in it.

“As you go along your main objective also is to find out what it is that really happens, which prevents the effective, quick and rapid issue of land title certificates and then you can advise me on that as well,” he said to the committee.

The committee members are: Deputy Minister Mr Kwabena Akandoh, Mrs Gifty Mahama Biyirah, Director of Finance and Administration; Alhaji Hamidu Ibrahim Baryeh, Technical Director of Lands; Mr Marcus Amos Tabil, Chief Geomatic Engineer; Mr Matthew Ababio, Project Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation Director; Mr Abakah Blankson, a Senior Officer of the Land Administration Project II; and Mr Francis Doe of the Lands Commission.