Ayitey Powers Stops Sarbah In Round 4

Ayitey Powers is basking in the glory of a third win in a row in 2015 after seeing off Joe Sarbah in a Cruiserweight contest in Accra at the weekend. Powers triumphed in the headline bout of the Wembley Promotions bill at the Wembley Park in Kotobabi in the Ghanaian capital. It was a close affair but Powers was in control throughout and confirmed his dominance by flooring his opponent in round 2 even though Sarbah beat the count. Referee Roger Barnor however had no choice than to declare Ayitey Powers the winner after Sarbah’s coach entered the ring in round 4 with the boxers still having a go at each other to declare his boxer couldn’t continue no more. Controversial it was but Powers claimed his third straight knockout victory this year after ending a 7-fight losing streak dating back to 2012 by knocking out Anicet Amoussou in Accra on January 3 and stopping Kwesi Tutu in round 1 in Keta in June. “This was an easy fight I knew Joe Sarbah would be no match and I proved it by disciplining him in the ring. I knocked him down already in the fight and his coach saw it all so he decided to throw in the towel,” Powers told Allsports.com.gh. “I’ve already said that there is nobody who can beat me and Bukom Banku in Ghana. I am looking forward to my manager in Australia about my next fight but if you put anybody in front of me in Ghana, I will destroy him,” Powers added. Other winners on the action-packed fight night was Emmanuel Quartey AKA Akufo Addo who silenced Isaac Nettey with a dominant performance in their Commonwealth Bantamweight eliminator. US based Isaac Dogboe was the toast of fans with his jabs, uppercuts and dominance in a knockout victory over Raymond Ansah in what was his Ghana debut to improve his budding record to 8-0, 4 KOs. Emmanuel Danso AKA Kwahu Tyson was once again a first round knockout victor after his powerful blows destroyed the face of Kwesi Tutu after only two minutes. Maxwell Awuku, Sumaila Badu, Obodai Sai, Habib Mohammed and Sheriff Quaye were all winners on the Night of Fire put together by Wembley Promotions and approved and sanctioned by the Ghana Boxing Authority.