Dr. Kweku Afriyie Dropped, As Akufo-Addo Appoints Ministers For Newly Created Regions

President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has made the following appointments to the six (6) newly created regions, and ministerial changes to four other existing regions, with immediate effect.

This comes weeks after the President presented the official Constitutional Instrument (CI) for the creation of the Western North, Oti, Ahafo, Bono East, Savannah and North East regions.

The President has appointed Mrs. Evelyn Ama Kumi-Richardson, currently Municipal Chief Executive for Sunyani Municipality, as Minister-designate for Bono Region and Hon. Siaka Stevens, Member of Parliament (MP) for Jaman North as Deputy Minister-designate for the Region.

Member of Parliament for Atebubu/Amantin, Kofi Amoakohene is also selected as Minister-designate for Bono East Region.

His Deputy Minister is Member of Parliament for Techiman North, Martin Oti Gyarko.

Evans Opoku Bobie, Member of Parliament for Asunafo North and former Minister for Brong Ahafo Region has been selected to be Minister for the Ahafo Region.

Deputy Minister-designate for the Ahafo Region is the Member of Parliament for Tano South, Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere.

For the Savannah Region, Salifu Adam Braimah, Salaga South MP is the Minister-designate for the Region and his Deputy Minister is the former Parliamentary candidate for Mankarigu Daboya, Samuel Yeyu Tika.

With North East Region, Bunkpurugu and former Northern Regional Minister, Solomon Namliit Boar and Tahiru Tia Ahmed, an educationist from Gambaga, have been appointed as Minister-designate and Deputy Minister respectively.

A statement issued by Communications Director at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin and copied to Peacefmonline.com further stated that former Zabzugu MP, John Benam as Deputy Minister-designate for Northern Region and Hon. Salifu Saeed remains the Minister for Northern Region.

When it comes to the Western North Region, Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai MP, Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu and Sefwi Akontombra MP, Alex Tetteh have been appointed as Minister-designate and Deputy Minister-designate respectively.

Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, Member of Parliament for Takoradi constituency and former Deputy Minister for Aviation, has also been appointed by President Nana Akufo-Addo as Minister-designate for Western Region with Hon. Eugenia Gifty Kusi remaining Deputy Minister-designate for the Region.

Mr. Johnson Avuletey is the Deputy Minister-designate for the Volta Region and Archibald Letsa remains Minister for Region, and Kwasi Owusu Yeboah, Ghana's Ambassador to the Togolese Republic has been appointed as Minister-designate for the Oti Region.

Former Deputy Minister for Volta Region now becomes the Deputy Minister for Oti Region.

The President has called on Parliament to expedite the vetting of the Regional Ministers-designate and their Deputy Ministers-designate to "enable them assume their respective offices promptly, in order to begin and accelerate the establishment of the new Regions".