NPP Flagbearer Race: Bawumia Wins All 16 Regions In Delegates-Based Research

In a recent study co-conducted by Outcomes International Ghana and the Centre for Sustainable African Development Initiatives (C-SADI) UK, Vice-President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia has emerged as the most popular candidate for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) flagbearer position.

A target demographic of around 197,000 NPP polling station executives (PSEs) was employed in the study, which was done in all 16 regions of Ghana.

“The most preferred candidate for the NPP’s flagbearer position among PSEs is Dr Mahamudu Bawumia leading in all 16 regions as shown in figure 1 (below). The closest contenders to Dr Bawumia are Alan Kyerematen and Kennedy Agyapong respectively. It is worth noting that some PSEs (12.3%) indicated they have not yet decided on whom to vote for, but that does not significantly change the outcome,” the researchers said in their final report.

Below is the full statement accompanying the results:

Ghana is an emerging democratic country seen as a good example for countries in sub-Saharan Africa. There are several political parties in the country but the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) are the two dominant parties. In spite of the current economic challenges triggered by the COVID-19 pandemic and precipitated by the Russian-Ukraine war, the governing NPP remains a major political force in the upcoming 2024 general elections.

One major political issue dominating the media landscape of Ghana in recent times is the question of who leads the NPP into the next general election. The key people to elect the next presidential candidate of the NPP are party delegates, made up of polling station executives, electoral area coordinators, constituency executives, regional executives, national executives and Members of Parliament among others.

The person who emerges as the presidential candidate is crucial as they are key in determining the direction and developmental agenda for the country, when they subsequently become the president. A number of potential candidates have so far been identified. They include Hon. Alan Kyerematen, a former Trade minister, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, a former Agriculture minister, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, the current vice president, Hon. Kennedy Agyapong, a businessman and member of parliament, Hon. Boakye Agyarko, a former energy minister, and Mr Kwabena Agyapong, a former General Secretary of the NPP. Other potential candidates include Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, former member of parliament and minister of state, Kwadwo Nsafoah Poku, energy expert, Hon Joe Gartey, a member of parliament and former minister of state, and Hon, Francis Addai Nimo, a former member of parliament.