Sports Legends Confirm For 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards

The Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognise sporting achievement, are the premier honours on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 47 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will be unveiled at a globally televised Awards Ceremony staged at Central Hall, Westminster, in London. Proceeds from the Laureus World Sports Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports 91 community sports projects around the world. Since its inception, Laureus has raised €40 million for projects which have improved the lives of more than one-and-a-half million young people. Among the Laureus Academy Members and Laureus Ambassadors who will be in London are: Giacomo Agostini, Ruud Gullit, Ilie Nastase, Mansour Bahrami, Marvelous Marvin Hagler, Martina Navratilova, Boris Becker, Mika Häkkinen, Alexey Nemov, Serge Betsen, Tony Hawk, Oscar Pistorius, Annabelle Bond, Kelly Holmes, Gary Player, Sergey Bubka, Mike Horn, Steve Redgrave, Bobby Charlton, Miguel Indurain, Jamie Redknapp, Nadia Comaneci, Colin Jackson, John Robbie, David Coulthard, Kip Keino, Arantxa Sánchez-Vicario, Lawrence Dallaglio, Taig Khris, Monica Seles, Marcel Desailly, Franz Klammer, Mark Spitz, Kapil Dev, Henri Leconte, Daley Thompson, Mick Doohan, Tegla Loroupe, Alberto Tomba, Morné du Plessis, Michael Lynagh, Pieter van den Hoogenband, Emerson Fittipaldi, Barry McGuigan, Edwin van der Sar, Sean Fitzpatrick, Edwin Moses, Michael Vaughan, Dawn Fraser, Nawal El Moutawakel, Steve Waugh, Frankie Fredericks, Robby Naish, Katarina Witt, Tanni Grey-Thompson. Double Olympic gold medallist Edwin Moses, Chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy, said: “I am delighted that the 2012 Laureus Awards is to be staged in London. Sport is close to the hearts of everyone in London and the UK and that makes me very excited that the Awards are being held here. I am thrilled that so many members of the Laureus Family will be there to salute the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year.” Boris Johnson, the Mayor of London, said: “I am excited that the Laureus World Sports Awards and the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation have decided to bring the Awards to London for 2012. Laureus and I share a commitment to making sport a positive part of everyone’s life regardless of age and ability. Celebrating the power of sport here in London with the world’s sporting superstars will provide the perfect start to our Olympic year and it marks the beginning of a real and long-lasting grassroots sports legacy for London and beyond.” Laureus combines the Laureus World Sports Awards, the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation and the Laureus World Sports Academy to form a unique international sports organisation that uses the inspirational power of sport as a force for good. The Laureus Foundation is a global leader in research, expertise and best practice in supporting grassroots programmes around the world. The full list of Nominees for the 2012 Laureus World Sports Awards is: Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Usain Bolt (Jamaica, Athletics), Novak Djokovic (Serbia, Tennis), Cadel Evans (Australia, Cycling), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Football), Dirk Nowitzki (Germany, Basketball), Sebastian Vettel (Germany, Motor Racing) Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya, Athletics), Maria Höfl-Riesch (Germany, Alpine Skiing), Carmelita Jeter (US, Athletics), Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic, Tennis), Homare Sawa (Japan, Football), Yani Tseng (Taiwan, Golf) Laureus World Team of the Year All Blacks (N.Zealand, Rugby), FC Barcelona (Spain, Football), Dallas Mavericks (US, Basketball), England Cricket Team (UK), Japan Women’s Football Team, Red Bull (Austria, Motor Racing) Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Yohan Blake (Jamaica, Athletics), Mo Farah (UK, Athletics), Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic, Tennis), Rory McIlroy (UK, Golf), Li Na (China, Tennis), Oscar Pistorius (S.Africa, Athletics) Laureus World Comeback of the Year Eric Abidal (France, Football), Darren Clarke (UK, Golf), Crusaders (N.Zealand, Rugby), Sergio Garcia (Spain, Golf), Liu Xiang (China, Athletics), Queensland Reds (Australia, Rugby) Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Daniel Dias (Brazil, Swimming), Terezinha Guilhermina (Brazil, Athletics), Oscar Pistorius (S.Africa, Athletics), Esther Vergeer (Netherlands, Wheelchair Tennis), David Weir (UK, Wheelchair Athletics), Irek Zaripov (Russia, Nordic Skiing) Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Jamie Bestwick (UK, BMX), Philip Köster (Germany, Windsurfing), Carissa Moore (US, Surfing), Travis Rice (US, Snowboarding), Kelly Slater (US, Surfing), Shaun White (US, Skateboarding/Snowboarding).